Basque National Orchestra

The Basque National Orchestra, the leading symphony orchestra from an autonomous region nationwide, was created in 1982 on the basis of a project assigned to Imanol Olaizola, at that time music director with the Basque Government Department of Culture. Since Enrique Jordá took up the baton of a newly born formation as its artistic advisor and directed its first steps, different conductors have played their part in nurturing the quality and reach of the Basque Orchestra. Today Robert Treviño is its chief conductor. Jun Märkl, Andrey Boreyko (as principal guest conductor), Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Gilbert Varga and Cristian Mandeal, Mario Venzago, Hans Graf, Miguel Ángel Gómez Martínez, Matthias Kuntzsch, Maximiano Valdés and Jordá himself, its honorary conductor, have governed the fate of the Orchestra in its rising trajectory.


A well-structured, dynamic activity with its roots in Basque cultural life has prompted the Basque National Orchestra to give more than 100 concerts every season, distributed into different cycles and in collaboration with different national and international institutions.


As part of its Season Concerts, the backbone of its activity, the Orchestra permanently performs four concert seasons at the Euskalduna Concert Hall in Bilbao, the Kursaal Auditorium in San Sebastián, the Principal Theatre in Vitoria and the Baluarte Auditorium in Pamplona. In each of these, it has shared the stage with conductors including Yehudi Menuhin, Krysztof Penderecki, Christopher Hogwood, Yakov Kreizberg, Jerzy Semkov, Lawrence Foster, Giovanni Antonini, Jesús López Cobos, Gerd Albrecht, Joana Carneiro and José Ramón Encinar. The list of soloists who have accompanied the Orchestra also features names such as Maria Joao Pires, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Mischa Maisky, Antonio Meneses, Christian Zacharias, Leonidas Kavakos, Radu Lupu, Arcadi Volodos, Heinrich Schiff, Vadim Repin, Hélène Grimaud, Branford Marsalis, Michel Camilo, Martin Fröst, Elisabeth Leonskaja, Alban Gerhard, Pinchas Zukerman, Joaquín Achúcarro, María Bayo, Carlos Alvarez, Mena, Ainhoa Arteta, Marta Zabaleta, Asier Polo and a long list of others. On the other hand, in the context of strong choral tradition, the Orchestra enjoys a close relationship with institutions such as the Orfeón Donostiarra, the Bilbao Choral Society, the Orfeón Pamplonés, the Coral Andra Mari Abesbatza and the Coro Easo. Also worthy of note is its collaboration with artistic institutions like the Malandain Ballet Biarritz: from the pit, the Orchestra has provided the music for its performances of Magnifique, Cendrillon and La Belle et la Bête.



facebook twitter email print

full discography

Discography (extract)

Gabriel Erkoreka

Cello Concerto 'Ekaitza'

Tres Sonetos de Michelangelo

Piano Concerto 'Piscis'

Asier Polo, cello

Carlos Mena, countertenor

Alfonso Gómez, piano

Basque National Orchestra

Juanjo Mena

ODE 1442-2


Released 06/2024

more info & buy

Maurice Ravel

Valses nobles et sentimentales

Menuet antique

Frontispice (orch. Boulez)

Shéhérazade Ouverture

Ma mère l'Oye (Mother Goose), Ballet

Basque National Orchestra

Robert Trevino

ODE 1416-2

Released 11/2022

more info & buy


Charles Martin Loeffler 

Carl Ruggles

Howard Hanson

Henry Cowell

Delphine Dupuy, viola d'amore

Basque National Orchestra

Robert Trevino, conductor

ODE 1396-2

Released 10/2021

more info & buy

Maurice Ravel


La Valse

Rapsodie espagnole

Alborada del gracioso

Une barque sur l'océan

Pavane pour une infante défunte

Basque National Orchestra

Robert Trevino, conductor

ODE 1385-2

Released 04/2021

more info & buy