Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonatas Opp. 2, 101 & 106 "Hammerklavier"

Paavali Jumppanen, piano


2 CDs

February 2014

Catalogue No.:
ODE 1248-2D


Track listing

CD 76:22
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano Sonata in F minor, Op. 2 No. 1 22:14
1 Allegro 5:45
2 Adagio 5:33
3 Menuetto & Trio: Allegretto 3:55
4 Prestissimo 7:05
Piano Sonata in A major, Op. 2 No. 2 28:24
5 Allegro vivace 10:28
6 Largo appassionato 6:59
7 Scherzo: Allegretto 4:27
8 Rondo: Grazioso 6:35
Piano Sonata in C major, Op. 2 No. 3 25:29
9 Allegro con brio 9:34
10 Allegro con brio 7:38
11 Scherzo & Trio: Allegro 3:26
12 Allegro assai 4:50

CD 2 67:15
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano Sonata in A major, Op. 101 20:51
1 Etwas lebhaft und mit der innigsten Empfindung - Allegretto ma non troppo 4:08
2 Ziemlich lebhaft. Marschmässig - Vivace alla marcia 6:19
3 Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll - Adagio ma non troppo, con affetto 2:53
4 Geschwinde, doch nicht zu sehr und mit Entschlossenheit - Allegro 7:30
Grand Sonata in B-flat major, Op. 106 "Hammerklavier" 46:12
5 Allegro 12:08
6 Scherzo: Assai vivace – Presto – Tempo I 3:03
7 Adagio sostenuto 18:57
8 Introduzione: Largo – Un poco più vivace – Tempo I – Allegro – Tempo I – Prestissimo - Allegro risoluto 12:03

Also recommended...


Classica 'Choc'

Press review

Paavali Jumppanen plays Beethoven with pinpoint control and excitement, too. 
Paavali Jumppanen grabs your attention throughout the three Op 2 Sonatas with impressive lightness (...). Op 101 stands out for the March movement and the concluding fugue's pinpoint control and finely honed balances.
Jed Distler, Gramophone, May 2014

Jumppanen is prodigiously gifted, and he provides deeply felt accounts (...). Jumppanen offers an eloquent performance of the Hammerklavier Sonata's Adagio (...). Good recording sound adds to the allure.
Performance: ****, Recording: *****
BBC Music Magazine, May 2014

Complete description

Paavali Jumppanen is an internationally esteemed pianist, a versatile performer equally at home as a concerto soloist, chamber musician, and a recitalist. His vast repertoire spans piano literature from Bach to the Avant-garde. Jumppanen has spent several years performing the works of Viennese Classics, in particular Beethoven. His performances of the complete cycles of Beethoven's and Mozart's Piano Sonatas as well as Beethoven's concertos and chamber music have won critical acclaim.

Jumppanen has collaborated with numerous contemporary composers and premiering many solo and chamber works for the piano. He has worked personally with esteemed composers including Pierre Boulez, William Duckworth, Henri Dutilleux, as well as composers of his native Finland. On the DG recording project of the complete works by Pierre Boulez, Jumppanen recorded the piano sonatas upon the composer's request.


Paavali Jumppanen's first solo piano disc on Ondine is a double-CD which contains five Piano Sonatas by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), including three early sonatas and the well-known Hammerklavier Sonata.


Jumppanen describes the project: "I had spent several years performing the complete cycle of Beethoven's 32 Piano Sonatas and wanted to record that period of my artistic life. I see it as important that each generation of musicians present their views of this music. In so doing they participate in a kind of dialogue with the past generations of artists, whose recordings of Beethoven we so well know. Each time-period has its own soundscape and musical ideas."


Jumppanen is currently in the process of writing a book on Beethoven's Piano Sonatas. He has also written the liner notes for the new Ondine recording.