Kaija Saariaho
Let the Wind Speak, works with flute

Camilla Hoitenga, flute
Anssi Karttunen, cello
Daniel Belcher, baritone
Heloise Dautry, harp
Da Camera of Houston

Finnish contemporary


Sleeve notes in English, French and Finnish.


November 2015

Catalogue No.:
ODE 1276-2


Track listing

CD 71:04
Kaija Saariaho (1952-)
1 Tocar 7:22
2 Mirrors I 3:29
3 Couleurs du vent 9:01
Sombre I-III 20:40
4 I Canto CXVIII 5:57
5 II Canto CXX 8:51
6 III Fragment (1966) 5:52
7 Dolce tormento 6:31
8 Mirrors III 3:40
9 Oi kuu 6:41
10 Laconisme de l'aile 8:52
11 Mirrors II 3:27

Also recommended...

Complete description

This new release by Ondine offers a unique glimpse into the flute chamber works of Kaija Saariaho (b. 1952), one of the leading contemporary composers internationally. The disc includes works covering four decades, from 1982 to 2012 performed by flutist Camilla Hoitenga. Hoitenga is joined by cellist Anssi Karttunen, Da Camera of Houston, baritonist Daniel Belcher and harpist Héloïse Dautry.

Kaija Saariaho and Camilla Hoitenga met for the first time in 1982 and their collaboration has been active for many years. Hoitenga has partly inspired several of the compositions heard on this disc. Besides premiering flute works by Saariaho, she has championed Saariaho's flute works around the world.

This release includes, among others, the world premiere recording of Sombre, a work originally commisioned by the Da Camera Society of Houston, Texas to be premiered at the Rothko Chapel.