Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Founded in 1946, the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin has twice changed its name in the course of its five-decade history. Originally known as the RIAS-Symphonie-Orchester, it became the Radio-Symphonie-Orchester in 1956 and was renamed the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin in 1993 to simplify the profusion of names for the various orchestras in the now reunified city.

The Chief Conductors of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin have included Ferenc Fricsay (1948-1963), Lorin Maazel (1964-1975), Riccardo Chailly (1982-1989), Vladimir Ashkenazy (1989-1999) and Kent Nagano, who has been Chief Conductor and Artistic Director since 2000. The Orchestra has also been conducted by such world-famous maestros as Erich Leinsdorf, Otto Klemperer, Sir Neville Marriner, Roger Norrington and Kent Nagano. It annually gives some 60 concerts in Berlin and makes regular guest appearances in other parts of Europe, in addition to tours to the US and Japan.

More information:
Official Website

facebook twitter email print


Anton Bruckner
Symphony in F Minor
Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin 
Vladimir Ashkenazy, conductor
ODE 920-2

Released 01/1999

more info & buy

back to top
Extended search
We noticed you are searching for more than one word. Would you like to

search for each word separately,
eg.: Paul, Hindersmith, Symphonie

search for a term,
eg.: "Paul Hindersmith"

redefine your search.
Use quotations for a term and single words, eg.: "Paul Hindersmith" Symphonie