Virpi Räisänen, mezzo-soprano

Mezzo-soprano Virpi Räisänen completed her vocal studies at the Utrecht and Amsterdam Conservatories with the highest distinction. Following her recent career change from a successful violinist to a concert and opera singer, she has appeared on the stages of the Salzburg Festival, Radio France's Festival Présences, the Aix-en-Provence Festival, the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Musashino Recital Hall in Tokyo, the Helsinki Music Centre, the Staatsoper in Berlin, the Netherlands Opera and the Handel Festival in Halle.
Virpi Räisänen made her debut at the Salzburg Festival in 2009 in Luigi Nono's opera Al gran sole carico d'amore, with Ingo Metzmacher conducting the Vienna Philharmonic. She was invited back to the Salzburg Festival in 2010 for the premiere of Wolfgang Rihm's Dionysos, which was presented in Amsterdam and Berlin as well. She also appeared in Frank Martin's Le vin herbé in the Netherlands. In addition to her achievements in contemporary repertoire, she has sung the leading roles of Elmira in Handel's Floridante, Orfeo in Gluck's Orfeo ed Euridice and the double roles of the Muse and Nicklausse in Offenbach's Les contes d'Hoffmann.
She made her Amsterdam Concertgebouw debut in 2011 with Gordan Nikolic leading the Netherlands Chamber Orchestra, followed by appearances with the Orchestre philharmonique et le Choeur de Radio France with Esa-Pekka Salonen, the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra with Sakari Oramo, the Tapiola Sinfonietta, the Flemish Radio Choir and Orchestra, the Oulu Symphony Orchestra and the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra with Dima Slobodeniuk.
Virpi Räisänen has performed lied repertoire throughout Europe and Japan. She has established herself as a specialist in contemporary music, having premiered dozens of new works, many of them written for and dedicated to her. She created the project VIULAJA (violin-mezzo) around her ability to sing and play the violin simultaneously.
In addition to her singing career, Virpi Räisänen is Artistic Director of the Oulunsalo Soi Chamber Music Festival.

facebook twitter email print


Luciano Berio
Quattro versioni originali della Ritirata Notturna di Madrid di L. Boccherini (1975)
Calmo for mezzo-soprano and 22 instruments (1974/1989)
Sinfonia for 8 voices and orchestra (1968-69)

Virpi Räisänen, mezzo-soprano
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Hannu Lintu, conductor
ODE 1227-5

Released 10/2014

more info & buy

The Legacy of Mahler

Virpi Räisänen
Marita Viitasalo
ODE 1208-2

Released 08/2012

more info & buy

back to top
Extended search
We noticed you are searching for more than one word. Would you like to

search for each word separately,
eg.: Paul, Hindersmith, Symphonie

search for a term,
eg.: "Paul Hindersmith"

redefine your search.
Use quotations for a term and single words, eg.: "Paul Hindersmith" Symphonie