Aarre Merikanto
Concerto for Violin, Clarinet, Horn and String Sextet
Works for Male Choir

Eduard Brunner, clarinet
Petr Donek, clarinet
Otto Trnka, cor anglais
David Jolley, horn
Nachum Erlich, violin
Oleg Kagan, violin
Sakari Oramo, violin
Matti Hirvikangas, viola
Vladimir Mendelssohn, viola
Anssi Karttunen, cello
Raimo Sariola, cello
Frantisek Posta, double bass
Juhani Lagerspetz, piano
Ulf Söderblom, conductor
The Polytech Choir
Tapani Länsiö, conductor



Booklet with liner notes in English and Finnish, and the song lyrics in the original language and in English


August 1986

Catalogue No.:
ODE 703-2


Track listing

CD 72:35
Aarre Merikanto (1893-1958)
Concerto for Violin, Clarinet, French Horn and String Sextet (Schott Concerto) (1924) 22:35
1 I. Largo - Allegro 6:05
2 II. Largo - Vivace - Adagio 9:50
3 III. Allegro vivace 6:40
Nonet 19:55
4 I. Adagio - Molto allegro 6:52
5 II. Largo 7:03
6 III. Allegro vivace 6:00
Works for Male Choir 30:05
7 I. Let this Night Be Merry 4:00
8 II. The Idiot 1:36
9 III. Old Lemminkäinen 4:53
10 IV. The Swing 2:44
11 V. Caressing the Echo 1:56
12 VI. Midsummer 1:32
13 VII. Silence 5:10
14 VIII. To the Last Living Being 7:39

Also recommended...

Complete description

This CD features works by Finnish composer Aarre Merikanto. The original LP release from 1986, the third in Ondine's history, contained only the Concerto and the Nonet, both recorded at the Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival in 1984. Violinist Oleg Kagan, clarinetist Eduardo Brunner and hornist David Jolley are the soloists in the Concerto. Ulf Söderblom conducts the Kuhmo Chamber Ensemble.

The eight works for male choir, featuring the Polytech Choir under Tapani Länsiö, were recorded at the German Church in Helsinki in 1987.