Einojuhani Rautavaara
Vincent - Opera in Three Acts

Finnish National Opera Chorus
Finnish National Opera Orchestra
Fuat Manchurov, conductor
Marjatta Airas, alto
Heljä Angervo, mezzo-soprano
Marianne Harju, mezzo-soprano
Matti Heinikari, tenor
Jaakko Hietikko, bass
Anssi Hirvonen, tenor
Jorma Hynninen, baritone
Juha Kotilainen, baritone
Marko Putkonen, bass
Sini Rautavaara, soprano
Eeva-Liisa Saarinen, mezzo-soprano

Finnish contemporary


2 CDs; booklet with liner notes and synopsis in English, German, French, Dutch and Finnish, and the libretto in the original Finnish and in English


September 1990

Catalogue No.:
ODE 750-2


Track listing

CD 1 44:03
Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928-2016)
Vincent - Opera in Three Acts
1 Act I 44:03

CD 2 54:50
Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928-2016)
Vincent - Opera in Three Acts
1 Act II 40:36
2 Act III 14:16

Also recommended...

Complete description

This double CD contains the three-act opera Vincent by Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara who also wrote the libretto. It tells the story of the Dutch Post-Impressionist painter Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890).

Rautavaara wrote the opera in 1986-87 on commission from the Savonlinna Opera Festival. The recording was produced in collaboration with the Finnish National Opera in May 1990 and was made shortly after the world première, featuring the same performers.

The cast includes
Jorma Hynninen: Vincent
Matti Heinikari: Theo
Marko Putkonen: Paul
Eeva-Liisa Saarinen: Maria Hoornik
Sini Rautavaara: Gaby
Marianne Harju: Rachel
Marjatta Airas: Magdalena
Heljä Angervo: Secretary / Clerk / Artist
Anssi Hirvonen: Chaplain / Chief Preacher / Aesthete
Jaakko Hietikko: Doctor Rey / Foreman / Professor
Juha Kotilainen: Chief Warder / Chief of Police / Critic.