Einojuhani Rautavaara
Rasputin - Opera in Three Acts

Finnish National Opera Chorus
Finnish National Opera Orchestra
Mikko Franck, conductor
Aki Alamikkotervo, tenor
Jyrki Anttila, tenor
Jaakko Hietikko, bass
Jyrki Korhonen, bass
Ritva-Liisa Korhonen, soprano
Lilli Paasikivi, mezzo-soprano
Riikka Rantanen, mezzo-soprano
Matti Salminen, bass
Gabriel Suovanen, baritone
Sauli Tiilikainen, baritone
Kai Valtonen, bass
Lassi Virtanen, tenor

Finnish contemporary

1 DVD Video (all regions; NTSC Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround / PCM Stereo); menu in English/Finnish; subtitles in English/German/French/Finnish; extras; booklet with liner notes and synopsis in English, German, French and Finnish
DVD Video

May 2005

Catalogue No.:
ODV 4003


Track listing

DVD 150:00
Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928-2016)
1 Rasputin - Opera in Three Acts (2003) 150:00

Also recommended...

Awards '10/10'

Press review

Ce monument musical est servi par ce que la Finlande musicale compte de meilleur, du grand baryton Matti Salminen, grandiose en Raspoutine, au jeune chef Mikko Franck, à la tête des troupes de l'opéra finnois.
Maxime Kaprielian et Pierre-Jean Tribot, Guide 2011 des DVD de musique classique

Salminen's rich voice and corpulent presence are haunting, while Rautavaara's score (conducted by Mikko Franck) conjures up the decadence of the 1916 Russian state in long dark waves of sound and abrasive dissonance.
Rick Jones, The Times, October 6, 2007

Rautavaara is one of Finland's many fine composers; perhaps the finest. (...) The opera is (...) a masterful work to be sure. (...) What a grand company the Finnish National Opera is! Where do they get all of those fine baritones and basses? (...) This is a grand show.
Robert Levine,, August 2005, Artistic Quality 10 / Sound Quality 10