Johann Sebastian Bach
Partitas for Solo Violin
arr. for guitar by Timo Korhonen

Timo Korhonen, guitar



2 CDs; booklet with liner notes in English and Finnish


May 2010 (Finland)
June 2010 (internationally)

Catalogue No.:
ODE 1164-2D


Track listing

CD 1 62:29
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002 (arr. Timo Korhonen for guitar) 31:10
1 I. Allemanda 5:41
2 – Double 3:07
3 II. Corrente 4:23
4 – Double (Presto) 4:31
5 III. Sarabande 3:18
6 – Double 2:16
7 IV. Tempo di Borea 3:51
8 – Double 3:58
Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004 (arr. Timo Korhonen for guitar) 31:06
9 I. Allemanda 5:08
10 II. Corrente 2:39
11 III. Sarabanda 4:42
12 IV. Giga 4:45
13 V. Ciaccona 13:50

CD 2 21:07
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Partita No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006 (arr. Timo Korhonen for guitar) 21:07
1 I. Preludio 4:25
2 II. Loure 4:07
3 III. Gavotte en Rondeau 3:27
4 IV. Menuet I – V. Menuet II 5:11
5 VI. Bourrée 1:46
6 VII. Gigue 2:08

Also recommended...

Press review

Korhonen's phrasing and articulation are intelligent and musical, and the execution is clean and crisp.
William Yeoman, Gramophone, October 2010

Timo Korhonen (...) gives fascinating interpretations of these bottomless works.
Simon Thomson, MusicWeb-International, September 2010

In der langen Tradition der Bach-Bearbeitungen ist Timo Korhonens gitarristische Anverwandlung der Partiten für Solo-Violine BWV 1002, BWV 1004 und BWV 1006 sicherlich ein bemerkenswerter Schritt.

Michael B. Weiß,, 11.6.2010, 8 • 9 • 8

Timo Korhonen on niin hieno kitaristi, että kaikesta, mitä hän tekee, välittyy vahva musikaalinen ote ja soittimen ilmaisukeinojen suvereeni hallinta. Bachin sooloviulupartitoissa Korhonen luonnehtii ja artikuloi tansseja oivallisesti. Double-osissa on sähäkkyyttä, gigat kutsuvat hyppimään. Laaja ciaccona yltyy hurjaksi kurottaessaan huippukohtiinsa.
Veijo Murtomäki, Helsingin Sanomat, 15.5.2010

Complete description

This CD features Timo Korhonen with the Partitas for Solo Violin by J.S. Bach, and his own arrangement for modern guitar. This recording follows on the success of the Bach Sonatas for Solo Violin (ODE 1128-2).

While many guitarists carry single movements in their repertoire, such as the famous Ciaccona from Partita No. 2, Timo Korhonen's acclaimed project herewith covers the complete Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin. Timo Korhonen's transcriptions remain very faithful to the original violin score, as he states in the CD liner notes: "My aim was to execute the musical content, as if Bach had actually written it for six-string guitar back in 1720."

Timo Korhonen is a real insiders' tip with a loyal fan base at major festivals and concert venues around the globe. His imaginative and innovative performances of contemporary and less known works continue to create much excitement. Concerto appearances feature him along with conductors such as Esa-Pekka Salonen, Jukka-Pekka Saraste and Sakari Oramo. His acclaimed recordings for Ondine include Leo Brouwer's 'Helsinki Concerto,' dedicated to him by the composer, which won a Cannes Classical Award in 2003 (ODE 979-2)