In this moonlit night
Lieder by Tchaikovsky, Mussorgsky & Taneyev

Dmitri Hvorostovsky, baritone
Ivari Ilja, piano



Booklet with liner notes in English and German and the song texts in the original Russian (transliteration) and in English


January 2013

Catalogue No.:
ODE 1216-2


Track listing

CD 58:34
Peter Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Six Songs, Op. 73 15:32
1 You and I were sitting together (My sideli s toboj) 2:42
2 Night (Noch’) 4:09
3 In this moonlit night (V `etu lunnuju noch’) 2:02
4 The sun has set (Zakatilos’ solnce) 1:54
5 In the midst of gloomy days (Sred’ mrachnykh dnej) 1:51
6 Again, as before (Snova, kak prezhde) 2:54
Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881)
Songs and Dances of Death 22:02
7 Lullaby (Kolybel’naja) 5:27
8 Serenade (Serenada) 5:01
9 Trepak 5:20
10 Field marshal (Polkovodec) 6:14
Sergei Taneyev (1856-1915)
11 All are asleep (Ljudi spat), Op. 17/10 3:38
12 Minuet (Menu`et), Op. 26/9 4:48
13 Not the wind from on high (Ne veter veja s vysoty), Op. 17/5 2:19
14 Winter path (Zimnij put’), Op. 32/4 3:05
15 Stalactites (Stalaktity), Op. 26/6 4:24
16 Anxiously beats the heart (B’jotsja serdce bespokojnoje), Op. 17/9 2:14

Also recommended...

Complete description

This second release of star baritone Dmitri Hvorostovsky for Ondine features Russian Lieder by Tchaikovsky, Mussorgsky and Taneyev.

Dmitri Hvorostovsky is recognized as one of the leading and most charismatic baritones of our time, performing internationally at such opera houses as the New York Met, and partnering regularly with singers Renée Fleming and Jonas Kaufmann.
Together with his longstanding duo partner, Estonian pianist Ivari Ilja, they have frequently performed to great critical acclaim.

Tchaikovsky composed his song collection Six Songs, Op. 73, in 1893, the year of his death, and they are full of musical nostalgia.
Being in a frenzy of creativity after his opera Boris Godunov had been completed and premièred, Mussorgsky wrote his Songs and Dances of Death 1875-1877.
Full of emotional excitement are Taneyev's songs, especially Anxiously beats the heart from the Ten Romances, Op. 17.