Arvo Pärt

Da pacem Domine

Sacred Choral Works

Latvian Radio Choir
Sigvards Klava, conductor



Sleeve notes and lyrics in English


September 2016

Catalogue No.:
ODE 1286-2


Track listing

CD 72:38
Arvo Pärt (1935)
Triodion 16:00
1 Introduction 0:27
2 Ode I 4:10
3 Ode II 5:26
4 Ode III 4:59
5 Coda 0:58
Sieben Magnificat-Antiphonen 14:10
6 I O Weisheit 1:33
7 II O Adonai 2:33
8 III O Spross aus Isais Wurzel 1:04
9 IV O Schlüssel Davids 2:25
10 V O Morgenstern 2:00
11 VI O König aller Völker 1:22
12 VII O Immanuel 3:13
13 Nunc dimittis 7:45
14 Dopo la vittoria 9:20
15 Virgencita 8:11
16 The Woman with the Alabaster Box 5:57
17 Tribute to Caesar 5:31
18 Da pacem Domine 4:24

Also recommended...

Press review

'You'll be hard-pushed to find a disc of Pärt choral music more enjoyable than this'

* * * * *

BBC Music Magazine, March 2017

Complete description

The deeply spiritual and timeless music of Arvo Pärt (b. 1935) has touched many listeners in a profound way during the last few decades. Today he is among the most frequently performed living composers. This new recording includes eight choral pieces by the Estonian composer performed by the prestigious Latvian Radio Choir under Sigvards Kļava.


The works on this recording span a period of nearly 25 years, from 1988 to 2012, and include some of Pärt’s finest works in vocal writing, including the three-movement Triodion and the 7-movement Sieben Magnificat-Antiphonen. The dominant stylistic feature of these works is his famous tintinnabuli style which he adopted after distancing himself from his early style that adopted neo-classicism, serialism and polystylism.

Latvian Radio Choir’s previous releases on Ondine have been highly successful. For instance, the recording of Rachmaninov’s All-Night Vigil (ODE 1206-5) was chosen as the Record of the Month, Editor’s Choice and received a nomination in the Gramophone Awards in 2013. Also their recent release of choral works by Valentin Silvestrov (ODE 1266-5) received Gramophone Editor’s Choice.