Georgy Sviridov

Canticles and Prayers

The Red Easter

Latvian Radio Choir
Sigvards Klava, conductor



Sleeve notes and lyrics in English


May 2018

Catalogue No.:
ODE 1322-2


Track listing

CD 65:38
Georgy Sviridov (1915-1998)
Canticles and Prayers - The inexpressible miracle
1 Lord, save the pious 1:36
2 Holy God 4:52
3 It is worthy 2:10
4 Christmas song 1:21
5 Glory and Hallelujah 3:59
6 The inexpressible miracle 2:41
Canticles and Prayers - Having beheld a strange nativity
7 Glory 1:12
8 Come, let us worship 2:34
9 Glory 0:43
10 Repentance of the Prodigal Son 2:49
11 Glory (quiet) 1:01
12 Have mercy on us, Lord 2:37
13 Having beheld a strange nativity 4:35
Canticles and Prayers - From the Old Testament
14 King of Glory 3:03
15 The Song of Purification 3:24
16 The Lord's Land 5:35
Canticles and Prayers - Other songs
17 Glorification of the Mother of God 2:04
18 Prayer to the Holy Apostle John the Theologian 4:35
19 Lord, raise up your power 2:28
20 Behold the Bridegroom Comes 3:41
21 The Last Supper 4:36
22 The Red Easter 3:30

Also recommended...

Complete description

Georgy Sviridov’s (1915–1998) Canticles and Prayers is considered by many as one of the most important works in Russian sacred music. In this new recording Latvian Radio Choir under Sigvards Kļava offer impressive renditions of music from this collection by the Russian master.


Sviridov, a pupil of Shostakovich, began writing religious works since 1969. Since then these works came to form an important part of his oeuvre. In the 1980s Sviridov had several projects to write a liturgy or a mass. In the end, the sketches of his sacred music came to form a cycle titled Canticles and Prayers. The work was created at a turning point in the history of Russia, the perestroika years that ended in the collapse of the Soviet state. The composer was keenly affected by the events of those years, building a monument to his era. The main body of Canticles and Prayers was assembled between 1988 and 1992. In September 1997, Sviridov selected the versions he thought best, approving the final order for the first three parts and making the final edits to the score. This work remained incomplete at the time of his death in 1998. Canticles and Prayers was thus Sviridov’s last work. The recording also includes chorus The Red Easter (1978) based on a cycle of Easter hymns.


The releases of the Latvian Radio Choir on Ondine have been highly successful.  For instance, the recording of Rachmaninov’s All-Night Vigil (ODE 1206-5) was chosen as the Record of the Month, Editor’s Choice and received a nomination in the Gramophone Awards in 2013. Also, their recent releases of choral works by Valentin Silvestrov (ODE 1266-5) and Eriks Esenvalds (ODE 1247-2) received Gramophone Editor’s Choice.